Marvel announces the new Marvel: Point One initiative as a perfect starting point for new readers to the Marvel Universe. 


Marvel promises that while Point One is geared towards new readers that may not be familiar with the complex workings and characters of the Marvel Universe it won’t alienate the long time readers and fans. Could this be a response to the enormous popularity of DC’s Superman: Earth One? The name is pretty similar… Either way, it’s bringing new stories from top talent to the masses. Not to mention they’ll be priced at $2.99. How can that be bad? 

Marvel’s press release blow:

Geared for new and long-time readers alike, the all-new Marvel: Point One initiative delivers the perfect jumping on points for the biggest super hero series in the world! Beginning in February 2011, select Marvel comic series marked with a “.1” after the issue number feature full-length, self-contained stories by Marvel’s top creators, laying the groundwork for the next year of storylines. From Invincible Iron Man to Avengers to Amazing Spider-Man, each Marvel: Point One issue of the associated series not only begin major new storylines, but also seamlessly introduces new readers into the dynamic Marvel Universe and its popular super heroes. 

Additionally, each issue bearing the Marvel: Point One branding will be followed in the same month by another issue of that series, delivering new fans another exciting installment of the series they enjoy. 

Below is a full list of Marvel: Point One titles: 


  • WOLVERINE #5.1  

MARCH 2011 

  • DEADPOOL #32.1
  • HULK #30.1
  • THOR #620.1

APRIL 2011 

  • AVENGERS #12.1
  •  UNCANNY X-MEN #534.1




Leave a Reply